Thank You, Aveeno

Just a quick side note: I am sooooo glad to be back, finally writing all my well-hidden slightly disorganized collection of notes here on my wonderful blog for all you amazing people to read! But really, THANK YOU for staying and (still) reading through this inconsistent blog of mine.

And before I forget: HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU!

So now, back to regular (and hopefully, consistent) programming.

A few months back, I kept seeing these homely bath products while doing grocery errands for the humble home. Apparently, the Oppa got curious and bought some products for himself and recommended that I try them, too.

What are these products I am talking about? They’re the Aveeno Active Naturals body wash and lotion.

Since I was fairly stressed, I chose the “Stress Relief” set, hoping that somehow it could help ease my soul from everyday stress. LOL.

Anyway, it was a fair deal. I even got myself a matching loofah (for more visual de-stressing + I also love the color of lavender and purple.

To start off, I was expecting a lavender-ish scent. But instead, I was greeted with a rather sampaguita smell that was neither relaxing nor annoying. I was just surprised since it wasn’t a de-stressing scent for me. It might be de-stressing for others, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea, or rather, my palm of body wash (LOL).

Though it wasn’t the scent I was expecting, it actually reminded me of my mom and her choice of bath soaps back when I was young. It was similar to the Aveeno Active Naturals stress relief set, and somehow as I scrubbed it all over my body, the scent actually grew on me. Maybe because it reminded me of childhood memories of my mom, making me feel secure and somehow, young again. But other that that, it didn’t actually give me that “stress relief” I was gunning for. It was more of so-so.

Fun fact though, it’s a Johnson and Johnson product so we’re assured that Aveeno products are definitely safe and gentle to the skin.

Body Wash

20170109_151419-01

Thankfully, the scent wasn’t strong and the texture was just right. Scrub it all over your body and it feels goooooooood! Without a loofah, it was pretty okay as well–but really, get your loofah and indulge in scrubbing all that stress away!

Probably a tablespoonful of this enough to cover your whole body, and even with a loofah, it felt so smooth and silky.

Body Lotion

20170109_151433-01

The scent was stronger on this one, and the consistency was bordering on thick. Indeed, it was quite sticky, especially when you use it just after taking a bath or shower! Make sure to dampen yourself first with a towel, though.

Not really fond of this, I would still choose any Nivea lotion in a heartbeat. But in terms of truly moisturizing your skin, I find it good. My skin wasn’t dry throughout the day and definitely didn’t leave that sticky feeling for more than 10 minutes – it absorbs well enough.

My rating

All in all, I would give it a 6/10. I wasn’t really fond of the scent – and I am into scents especially for bath products for I consider bathing as a tremendously calming activity. I’d like to consider myself a water element sort of person, even though I can’t swim. Haha! But nonetheless, I enjoy activities that involve water – bathing, washing clothes, washing the dishes, riding boats, watering plants, etc.

Planning to try the regular version of this or probably other body washes that smell good. Won’t be easily fooled by advertising this time around! If I get a chance to smell the product prior to purchase, I would!

Thank you, Aveeno!

Leave a comment